Girl Out Of Water

“GIRL OUT OF WATER swept me up in its wake and did a perfect kick-flip on my heart. With a cast of characters worthy of every reader’s love, Silverman explores the confusing depths of the teenage experience, and its ebbs and flows, with humor, grace, and savvy.”
-John Corey Whaley, Printz winner and author of WHERE THINGS COME BACK

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it’s her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it’s hard to put her past behind her when she’s living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Extras

“A touching and layered debut. Silverman offers a heartfelt exploration on love, friendship, family, home—and their upheaval.” Adi Alsaid, author of NORTH OF HAPPY and LET’S GET LOST

“Readers looking for a warm, coming-of-age story and a swoony summer fling will love GIRL OUT OF WATER!” Miranda Kenneally, author of DEFENDING TAYLOR and CATCHING JORDAN

“Anise’s reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who’ve ever been homesick…A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they’re planted.” Kirkus Reviews

“Silverman’s debut is an entertaining and well-done coming-of-age story featuring a likable protagonist who learns that home is less about place and more about being surrounded by loved ones and friends. Silverman does a commendable job showcasing a diverse cast of characters, and the interracial romance is sweet…Those who enjoy Huntley Fitzpatrick and Jenny Han should give this one a try. There’s lots to like here, and Silverman proves she is a rising author to watch out for.” RT Book Reviews

“Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise’s love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman’s excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, reader will easily forget that he is missing an arm. Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han” – Booklist

Fun Things

Here's a chapter-by-chapter playlist for Girl Out Of Water